Swimming Lessons

Last term we had swimming lessons. We had to bring our goggles, togs, jackets, towels and put them inside a bag. We also brought our masks with us. The boys went swimming first while the girls waited. The teacher would come tell us when the bus was almost here and we usually changed early. Then we still had some time to play. When the bus arrived we had to get into a line and go to the bus but sometimes I stepped into mud on the way!!!!

When we got to the swimming lessons we had to wait and then we brought our stuff and masks and put things down on the bench so they didn’t get wet. I would put my cap on and then we had to get in the pool and the coach would tell us what to do.

I think we had to swim all the way to the other wall. I was really nervous at first because I wasn’t tall enough to reach the bottom but I learned to go tip-toed and then I could just reach the bottom of the pool. I had to get some help floating and trying to swim but I kinda got better and learned how to swim without help. I think I was getting a little better at floating my back.

And when it was Friday it was the end of the swimming lessons. There was a boat there and we had to get into a line and wait and when it was my turn I had to cross my arms on my chest and I had to hold my breath and fall backwards. The next one was we had to go to the wall and we had to put our hands on someone’s shoulders and lie on our back and paddle.  I almost hit my head on the wall. I don’t remember the rest of the activities but I remember there was one where we had to look at the wall and a guy would push us off . He told me and Kamela to move a little back and when we got so close to the edge of the water he pushed us off !! We also had a race and when we were finished we dried ourselves and put our jacket or jumpers on and got back on the bus and went back to school. I loved all our lessons so much.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *